Skip to content

What to do when you can’t get your ex off your mind.

August 17, 2011

Le LoveI’ve recently come to find that i cant get someone off my mind, and its driving me crazy. Its someone i shouldn’t be thinking about too, so i’ve been doing what i can to get them out of my head. Im sure im not alone with this, you probably have an ex or somebody you shouldn’t be thinking about. So first of all; dont go thru the whole “what if” situation-

My grandpa always said: there is no bigger waste of your time than thinking what if. Its out of your control! Blog Music tháng 8 [Mc : Pj VÀ Na còi vào nhận kịch bản - Kĩ thuật vui lòng chuẩn bị nhân sự] - Page 3If you’re pondering on what could have been with that person, think about all the reasons why it didnt work out when you were together. It puts things into perspective that it couldn’t have worked no matter what. Trust me, if you linger on all the things that you can’t contol you are going to go insane.

At some point, you’ve got to stop missing them. The truth is hard to hear, but you’ve gotta listen to it: It doesnt matter if they miss you back; cause they arent a part of your life anymore. Following butterfliesThe way you’ll know that you’re truly over someone is when you dont want to get back together, and you won’t care a whole lot when you think about what used to be. That’s the point you want to get to. Spending your time thinking about them isn’t going to do you any good, because they probably aren’t thinking about you. TuesdayaffairsYour thoughts about them won’t get you anywhere, they will just set you back from moving on. Except if you use your thoughts to better your life in the future, like thinking about what you learned from the relationship. This brings me to my next point:

Get it all out. Physically you cant take all those thoughts out of your mind, so use them. Type it all out, or write a letter to them about everything you want to say. Just never send it! Making lists about whatever helps me alot. (Pros v.s. Cons, Why lists, Reasons you suck lists, etc.) You could also call up your bff; ☎ they will let you rant on about all the things that need to be said. Tumblr_l7o8d6fmuh1qbhp5po1_500_largeIt will feel so good to let your thougthts free, it will feel fresh because you got to let out everything you were holding back. Your prolly thinking it would be better just to let it all out to their face, but think about it: why would you want to? It won’t change anything between you two, because it’s over, and they arent a part of your life anymore-so accept it!

264635_233191510039994_100000474416986_1009024_2069569_n_largeStop acting like a victim of your own mind. You, & only you, are in control of how your thoughts make you feel. Yeah, its nice to listen to that ♫ sad song ♫ over and over because its so relatable. But listening to that song is only going to remind you of that person more. It’s okay to mope and feel bad for a while after your breakup, but you can’t let that go on forever. You’ve gotta get back into enjoying life again! One person isn’t worth all that heartache. So, take all the things that remind you of your ex out of sight. Personally, that quote “Out of sight, out of mind” doesn’t work completley for me, but it sure helps. Surround yourself with things that make you happy; like a cute pet, fuzzy socks, a clean room, or pictures of fun times with your friend.

Go out and have some crazy fun. Hangout with your friends, or look at some hot guys:) If you are dating someone & you cant stop thinking about your ex, then maybe you should think about if the relationship you’re in is right for you. Tumblr_lpqpjl7a4t1qc2jhfo1_500_largeIt’s not fair to the other person if you’re still hung up on your ex. Or, go on a nice date with your boyfriend; it will help you realise that he’s soo much better than your last one.

Remember, you don’t have to forget memories just cause you cant stop thinking about them as long as you don’t let them negativley control how you feel. You’ve got better things to do than let that douchebag get in your head :)

Here, look at this hot guy & a kitten.I Heart These Boys.It’ll get your mind off that jerk atleast for a little while. (: And listen to “Over You” by We the Kings. Great song to listen to on those lonely nights. i† never ends

.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2013 1:57 pm

    It doesn’t work I can’t get my ex out of my head

  2. Trish permalink
    January 3, 2014 8:00 am

    I really enjoyed this article! Thank you for your insight. I dated this guy off and on for 7 years and stayed in touch for 2 years after that. Started when I was 15. We both had our own personal issues and tried to rely on the other to make things better. We just needed to grow up. Now we both are in relationships for 2+ years and have not had contact until late this past summer. We apologized to each other on how we treated one another. It literally felt like a weight had been lifted. Never understood that saying until that moment. I now can’t help to think about him daily. I know that I am in a “not so good” point in my life and that could very well be the root cause of my wandering mind. I’ve always been a slave to my emotions. I’m working on it. It helps to hear others perspectives on issues that so closely match up with my own. :) Thank you for making it a little less hurtful today.

  3. Greg permalink
    March 26, 2014 8:49 pm

    Thank you for that! I’ve got this girl I can’t get out of my mind! She is an ex and even though we’ve been split for some time now I can’t help but think of her non stop. Everything I look at I relate to her and all the memories we shared. I know it’s bad and yet I feel like my mind is running out of control with the thoughts of what if. Randomly bing (ing) how to get my ex off my mind lead me to this article and really cleared my head! I just want to say thank you for that!

  4. June 15, 2014 3:04 am

    Howdy! This is kind of off topic but I need
    some help from an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any points or suggestions? Thanks

Trackbacks

  1. Jealousy. « sparklecupcakekitten

Share your thoughts! (:

